RSS

Addiction

01 Apr

A

Addiction

At first I thought you were a myth
A story told to the weak
Just a story, I thought
I thought I was strong
Stronger than you at least
Now I stand here with you inside me
Coursing through my veins
Controlling my every thought and action
You give me hunger, a hunger only you can fill
But all too soon I feel the hunger again
You sit there and laugh in my face
Knowing you have the power to relieve the hunger
With sweaty palms and a dry mouth I tell you “No More!”
The longer I resist you the stronger you feel
Because I feel week at your mighty hands
You grow angry with me
You don’t like me resisting you
You start to feel weak but I still feel your strength
Your grip is loosening on me though
I grow stronger every minute
You tell me I can’t do it without you
You tell me I need you
You are getting desperate now
My vision is now clear
You have not left
But it is I that now controls you
I don’t need you
I can do this with the help of my Maker
Together we cannot be defeated
You will never leave me
But now I am the stronger one
Now you need me
You can’t do it without me
Now only I can feed you hunger
You are no longer a story or myth
You are every real
You go after the strong and the weak
No longer will I hide behind you
I am stronger
We are stronger!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Addiction

  1. Krystal Milton

    April 2, 2014 at 11:40 am

    I love it!!!!!!

     
  2. Drew Llew

    April 2, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    Wow. Strong start. And a powerful poem. I’m halfway through Breaking Bad on Netflix and the whole addiction theme is quite current, but only in my entertainment. If this poem is autobiographical, I hope you stay the course. Namaste.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 3, 2014 at 12:14 am

      Thank you so much! Yes unfortunately it is autobiographical, but I am doing my best and that’s all any of us can do =) Thank you for the well wishes! I actually haven’t seen any episodes of breaking bad yet. It’s on my to do list lol

       
  3. dragontailsandscales

    April 3, 2014 at 7:40 am

    The apostle Paul said “I do the very thing I hate.” Was it addiction? Regardless we all do things we hate. Life is certainly a struggle. Your honesty is refreshing for others.
    Best to you.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 3, 2014 at 10:08 pm

      Thank you! It was so hard to share this but I am so glad I did.

       
  4. tericonnolly

    April 4, 2014 at 6:26 am

    Beautiful! Thank you for penning it.

     

Tell me what you think!

 
