RSS

Baptism

02 Apr

B

When I was 20 I got baptized. I know a lot of people would deem that to be fairly old to be baptized, but for me it was Gods perfect timing. In my childhood home our parents made the choice to leave our faiths up to us. They of course made us aware that there was a God but that was about it. My oldest brother came to his faith first and my parents couldn’t have been happier. Next was my younger brother, he was brought to faith my older brother. I found myself sitting there the only non Christian in the house. Thinking back on it now I was kind of a jerk, I would get so angry and jealous because I had no idea what they were talking about, I felt left out. One day while they were in the middle of a lengthy conversation I once again didn’t understand I stormed off to my room and slammed the door. Keep in mind I was 18yrs old :-/. My dad came to my room with such kindness in his eyes, he asked what was wrong. When I told him, and by that I mean yelling and crying about being left out, it was all he could do not to laugh at me. That’s all? He said. Oh boy…. that didn’t help me feel any better! Then again with that kindness in his eyes he told me what they were talking about more importantly who they were talking about. He taught me who Jesus was and why we needed Him, why God sent Him to us. Before that moment I had no idea who Jesus Christ was, all I knew was saying Jesus Christ was a cuss word. From that day froward my life was forever changed. I was saved. It took me awhile to find a church and to get baptized. I dove into my bible almost immediately after coming to faith. I remember reading about Christ expressing his distaste with the separation of the church, I eventually ended up at the denomination of my family, the typical mothers, mothers, mothers, denomination. I was told by my Rev. that if I didn’t get baptized I would be going to hell, so out of fear I sought out getting baptized. I received my baptism and it was weird. I didn’t feel any different than I had when I woke up that morning. Then I realized it wasn’t the ritual of baptism that changes you, it doesn’t save you from hell! Ultimately it’s the spiritual baptism of your soul that you make when you accept Christ into your heart that keeps you from going to hell. I know my place at the end of the day and I know it’s not because I got baptized but because I have Christ in my heart! God bless!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Baptism

  1. Daring to Dream it

    April 3, 2014 at 12:55 am

    I’m glad you had the spiritual maturity to realize that baptism isn’t what keeps you from Hell. Your family sounds amazing. You are a lucky person.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 3, 2014 at 1:29 am

      Thank you so much! I truly am very blessed! They are great people, they are my best friends! God bless you!

       
  2. Virtually All Sorts

    April 3, 2014 at 1:50 am

    I definitely believe that you have to find your own way, whatever faith ‘finds’ you…

     
  3. Karina Susanto

    April 3, 2014 at 2:00 am

    Usually, in a church, baptism is only a symbol that we are officially accept God as our savior and our name registered in the church. You are so true that baptism didn’t safe us from hell. .it’s depends on our behavior as Christians 🙂 very interesting topic. Many blessings to you. .

     
  4. dragontailsandscales

    April 3, 2014 at 7:45 am

    So much of what is personal in our relationship has become doctrinal in the “church.”
    We use fancy baptistrys while first century believers got in the first river they came upon.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 3, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Right!? I was just an infant in my faith and had no idea.

       
  5. Krystal

    April 4, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    You never told me that story! I agree though growing up in a non faith household makes you not care about anything having my church family and my home family believers helps every day to strengthen my faith!!!! Looking forward to reading more!! My Love For My Duder!!!!!!!!!

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 6, 2014 at 12:28 am

      Endless love for my Duder!!

       
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 6, 2014 at 8:15 pm

      Yeah that was rev.dean from St.George’s! Apparently I didn’t read your whole comment lol

       

Tell me what you think!

 
