RSS

Commandments!

03 Apr

C

Okie dokie! Let’s play a little game! It’s a challenge within the challenge 🙂 You know how at Christmas people and children try to list all 12 reindeer, or all 7 dwarfs. The last one maybe only if you have little girls around you, have been a little girl or maybe sisters. It really doesn’t matter but…. I am pretty good at doing both! Just sayin! lol Does it really matter though? Does being able to do that help me in any way? Other than making me an awesome auntie? Answer……… NOPE! There is one list that would however help me in my faith and life. In fact it would benefit all of us, but can any of us get all of them? 3/4? 1/2? 4 even? Not in any specific order just to be able to list them? What list is it I am referring to you ask? The 10 commandments *in James Earl Jones’ voice* I encourage you to try with me without aids or assistance such as google or your Bible. I look forward to reading your attempts! Here is mine, again in no specific order. Good luck!

1) Thou shalt not covet thy neighbors wife

2) Thou shalt not steal

3) Thou shalt not kill

4)Thou shalt not have any God above Me

Well crap! All I can do is 4 😦 ……..lets see how you do!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Commandments!

  1. understandingflutterby

    April 4, 2014 at 3:58 am

    I couldn;t do any better! lol

    Flip x

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 4, 2014 at 4:00 am

      It’s hard right!? My goodness!!! lol

       
      • understandingflutterby

        April 4, 2014 at 4:14 am

        It is, you’ve actually made me think! I have brain ache lol

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 4, 2014 at 4:15 am

        lol sorry? It just might be a good thing though! =-)

         
      • understandingflutterby

        April 4, 2014 at 4:17 am

        Haha, no need to apologise, my brain needs all the stimulation it gets lol

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 4, 2014 at 4:23 am

        I think all of ours do!

         
  2. Ruby Young

    April 4, 2014 at 5:10 am

    I would hate to put anyone to shame, so I won’t quote them here. 🙂 However, it is a good test. The first four have to do with our relationship to God, the remaining six have to do with our relationship with our fellow man. I did enjoy your post. Thank you for reminding us. Best regards to you, Ruby

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 4, 2014 at 5:15 am

      ahhhhhhhh thank you! That is a great way to remember them. I actually didn’t realize they were split up like that! Thank you and God bless you!

       
  3. Zoanna

    April 4, 2014 at 7:10 am

    Let’s see, I do remember that the first 4 are vertical (our relationship to God) and the last 6 are horizontal (relationship to fellow men). So let’s see…i’m sure these aren’t in order except number 1, I think. 1) Have no other gods before Me.. 2)Make no graven images 3)Don’t take My name in vain 4()remember the Sabbath and keep it holy. 5) Honor your father and mother. 6) Do not bear false witness. 7) Do not steal 8) Do not covet 9) Do not commit adultery. 10) Do not murder

    Great word and test for C !

     
  4. Rebekah Loper

    April 4, 2014 at 7:30 am

    1. You shall not have any other gods before Me.
    2. You shall not make any graven images (idols).
    3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
    4. Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.
    5.
    6.
    7.
    8. You shall not murder. (The scripture doesn’t say ‘kill’, it specifically says ‘murder’ – there is a difference.)
    9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.

    And because I couldn’t remember three of them, I went ahead and looked them up! And really, it shows how simplified they’ve become, because there’s so much more to them.

    1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
    2. You shall not make for yourselves an idol, nor any image of anything that is in the heavens above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: you shall not bow yourself down to them, nor serve them, for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God…
    3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain…
    4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. You shall labor six days, and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God…
    5. Honor your father and mother, that your days may be long in the land the Lord your God gives you.
    6. You shall not murder.
    7. You shall not commit adultery.
    8. You shall not steal.
    9. You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.
    10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor’s.

    I paraphrased these from the World English Bible translation, Exodus 20.

    This was a good reminder. I’m suddenly staring down the idols I have made in my life, particularly the ones you forget about because they’re not graven images, and the tenth commandment definitely struck a chord. When things seem to be going right for so many other people, and your stuff keeps breaking, it’s hard not to feel a little like “Why can’t I have that?”

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 6, 2014 at 12:34 am

      Look at you smarty pants! 🙂 I struggle with the exact same thing!

       
  5. dragontailsandscales

    April 5, 2014 at 10:26 am

    Knowing them and keeping them are two different animals. Luke 22 a man asks Jesus what the two greatest commandments are. Jesus said 1 & 2 Which are paraphrased “Love God” and “Love your neighbor.” If we can keep these two the rest fall into place. Simple? Nope. Sheep need a shepherd to follow or they get easily lost.
    Great post
    Thanks for your visits – soooo appreciated.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 6, 2014 at 12:04 am

      It’s not simple at all! You are absolutely right! We need someone to guide us, keep us on the path and to hold us accountable for out actions. Thank you so much!

       
  6. Daring to Dream it

    April 5, 2014 at 10:55 am

    I only got one more and then looked them up. Then there was the slap on the forehead! Of COURSE that’s what they were. Thanks for the “test”.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 6, 2014 at 12:06 am

      Hahaha me too!!! Thank you for accepting the challenge! 🙂 God bless you!

       
  7. Nath

    April 22, 2014 at 6:03 am

    Cool to see you keen to learn and remember God’s word! It;s something I should be doing more of!

    From memory….
    1. Have no other Gods but me
    2. No idols
    3. Dont use Gods name in vain
    4. Keep the Sabbath Holy
    5. Honour your Mother and Father
    6. Dont lie
    7. Dont Murder
    8. Dont commit adultury
    9.Dont steal
    10. Dont covet

    I’m not sure about the order though?
    I’ve just been looking at Matthew 5 where jesus expands on these and proves that we are sinners who cannot save ourselves or meet God’s standard. But Jesus did and died in our place so we can be forgiven! What an awesome saviour!

     

Tell me what you think!

 
