RSS

Homlessness

09 Apr

H

As you may or may not know I was struggling so much this afternoon trying to figure out how I was going to put my ideas in to words but they just wouldn’t fit together properly. Then we are driving into downtown and it hit me like a ton of bricks! Homelessness! The words I wanted to use were humbleness and humility, who else personifies both of those things? The homeless. My second greatest passion in life is the homeless, the first being my faith. Through all of their unknowing actions are the very definition of both. At present I am without a home of my own and am staying with my mom and grandma, but if we didn’t have them we too would be on the streets. All of us are just a sharp left from being on the streets. We volunteered for a program called Inn From The Cold through our church and met a lot of wonderful people. Through our volunteering one thing that stuck out with most all of them was that they just wanted someone to talk to, not someone to talk at them. I read an article that stated that 97% of the homeless people in a major city were mentally ill and 91% of them were undiagnosed. I know the common stigma of the homeless is that they are drunks, junkies, or bums, but that is not the case! Sure with some of them it is but every group has a few rotten apples that make the rest look bad. They are all human beings who had mothers and fathers who loved them. Please the next time you see a homeless person just offer them a smile a kind hello! Tomorrows installment will be on Inn From The Cold. God bless you have a wonderful night!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Homlessness

  1. Jemima Pett

    April 10, 2014 at 6:27 am

    The best gift anyone ever gave me was from a friend – who responded to my concern that I couldnt help people who told me their problems by reminding me to “Just Listen”. It’s something so rare, just to be listened to.
    Great post.
    Good luck.
    Jemima
    #Team Damyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

     
  2. Shawn Yankey

    April 10, 2014 at 9:10 am

    I too have been homeless for some brief, scary periods in my life and it is very hard. Luckily, we have friends and family we can turn to for help if we’re lucky but, you’re right, so many people either can’t or just won’t do that. Great post! Shawn from Laughing at Life 2

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 13, 2014 at 5:45 am

      Thank you for sharing! We are extremely blessed! You are right and it’s very unfortunate. Thank you again! Have a great day! šŸ™‚

       
  3. Starralee

    April 10, 2014 at 11:43 am

    Homelessness is a shameful plight–I heard recently that the government has a gazillion empty-unused properties–why aren’t they being refurbished for our homeless folks?

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 13, 2014 at 6:09 am

      Exactly!!!! It is so absolutely ridiculous!!!! It’s out if greed that they won’t!

       
      • Starralee

        April 13, 2014 at 12:45 pm

        Yep, that “greed” thing is so destructive–

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 13, 2014 at 1:14 pm

        Yeah and it’s sickening! They say they have action plans to fix it or help it and yet noting happens. We have a supposed 3 year action plan and we’re on the 3rd year and we still have over 1200 people in shelters and on the streets! Total bogus bs!

         
      • Starralee

        April 13, 2014 at 2:11 pm

        Total Bogus BS is the most polite and accurate term I’ve heard!

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 13, 2014 at 2:12 pm

        Lol thank you!

         
  4. secretangel

    April 13, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Awesome post. Homelessness is a huge problem and seems to be increasing as times get tougher. More are losing their jobs. More families are homeless. More women and children are homeless. I am glad that you have family to help you. My family has also helped me in tough times. I praise God for coming through when we have needed. He is an awesome God. Thanks for sharing this. Many blessings to you, my friend.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 14, 2014 at 12:35 am

      He truly is! God bless you on this Easter week my sister!

       
      • secretangel

        April 14, 2014 at 5:35 am

        And many blessings to you too, my friend. šŸ™‚

         
  5. understandingflutterby

    April 15, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    I always feel so amazingly guilty whenever I come across a homeless person…guilt that I can go home to a warm house, guilt that I don;t need to worry about where my next meal may be coming from, guilt that even though those two facts are true, I often don;t have any spare cash to gift, and walk by with my head hung in shame.

    Flip x

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 16, 2014 at 1:32 am

      Me too! It’s a terrible feeling. I see the same ones in the same spot every day, we try to do what we can but we are broke and trying to get by day by day at work. It’s heartbreaking. I usually cry once a day because of it.

       
      • understandingflutterby

        April 16, 2014 at 2:37 am

        All you can do is do what you can, and understand that that will make *some* difference, even if you wish you could do more x

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 16, 2014 at 2:58 am

        Sure! You are right anything is better than nothing! Thank you so much for your comments! God bless!

         

Tell me what you think!

 
