RSS

Music

16 Apr

M

Music is so wonderful and universal. Music is the one thing that can bring people together and push them apart. Look at the way that, the “Stand by me around the world” brought the world together. They took treet performers from around the globe and made a beautiful version of an already beautiful song! So while that song brings us together, there are songs that divide us, rather genres that divide us. Take hardcore music, it’s where the vocalist sounds like they are screaming bloody murder. Many people consider it to be devil music. My mom was the perfect example of that. Both of my brothers were in hardcore Christian bands when she heard my older brothers band for the first time she cried thinking it was scary and devil music. That was until she heard what the lyrics that the lyrics where Christian and not evil at all, then she was a fan. I remember he had a show, we all went, while he was singing she ran to the front (we were backstage/on stage) and yelled him name so she could take a picture of him. lol My mom is awesome! Then you rock music. Quite a few people think it’s devil music or just bad, like Alice Cooper he had had a terrible label of satan worshiper, he is a Christian. The same goes for Black Label Society, Zakk Wylde the lead singer is a Christian. People are not taking the time to find out for themselves, they are passing judgment and assuming they know. Then there is traditional gospel music vs contemporary Christian music. Our church at one point was divided over the two, which was more appropriate to sing during the service. My opinion on the matter doesn’t matter, but the fact that our church was divided over it was just absurd. The church was divided on the very thing we use for fellowship and worship, it seems petty. We need to learn that it’s about the message behind the music that matters not the way the message is relayed! God bless you! Sing like no one can hear you!! 😀

P.S.

I listen to everything secular and non secular! With the exception of country, sorry folks I just can’t do it! 🙂

This a band called madball, they are an amazing Christian hardcore band. I absolutely love them!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Music

  1. jenpcv

    April 16, 2014 at 5:26 am

    Music was a very divisive issue in the church I grew up in, leading to a lot of gossip, judgement, and pain. It’s a shame, because music is beautiful in its own right, and speaks to someone.

     
  2. Mel

    April 16, 2014 at 7:00 am

    Wow first time I’m hearing about Christian hardcore and I’m impressed! While I’m an oldies/jazz sort of listener, I believe that all genres of music should be appreciated.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 16, 2014 at 4:33 pm

      I agree as well! Yeah hardcore isn’t for everyone’s taste but that’s ok!

       
  3. Miss Alister

    April 16, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    Yup, you gotta reach folks where they’re at, in the language they speak. Me, I’m a classic rock-to-heavy metal kinda gal and I love the Allies – even though they’ve long been disbanded – killer voice Bob Carlisle’s got!

     

Tell me what you think!

 
