RSS

Obscenity

18 Apr

O

So as some of you may know I suffer from PTSD caused by a car accident we were in 2 years ago. A part of my coping mechanisms for my PTSD are when we are driving, is that when someone does something stupid in traffic I kind of tend to scream and yell obscenities at people, if I do this my ticks and glitches seem to ease up and sometimes I can even get past the event without them! Sometimes. If I don’t, typically I have anxiety, cry, snap my fingers and click my teeth until I do it just the right way and then they go away, this can take 5 min to 2 1/2 days (that was the longest it ever lasted). Before the accident I would not react at all. I am not proud of my reactions, but when I first got back into a car I would just sit and cry. Throwing a few unpleasant words around that only the two of us hear, isn’t so bad in comparison. I don’t know what all of my triggers are yet but I pray that I soon will so that I can one day get over this and move forward. What situation makes you obscene if any?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Obscenity

  1. abundantlife

    April 18, 2014 at 12:16 am

    Friend, please find someone to pray over you. Fast. Have others fast and pray for you. Confess your sins to The Lord. He can heal your anxieties and your PTSD. May God give needed grace and peace.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 18, 2014 at 12:25 am

      I have and continue to confess my sins. I know He will heal me. I just have to be patient and accept His will for me. I am not sure about the pray over me part, do you mean like a hands on group prayer thing?

       
      • abundantlife

        April 18, 2014 at 6:09 am

        According to James 5:16 –
        Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.

        Do you have praying friends in your life? Are you in a Bible Study? Humble yourself and ask for prayer. God LOVES to heal and He is gracious towards the humble! We all need Him!

        My greatest healing moments have happened when others have prayed for me. God sees our hearts and He alone has the power to set us free.

        Bless you.

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 18, 2014 at 3:27 pm

        Oh yes I have people to pray with and for me. Thank you. I very much believe in the power of prayer and have received great healing from it in the past. God bless you this Good Friday.

         
  2. Starralee

    April 18, 2014 at 12:26 am

    I confess, if I’m maxed out–tired, irritable, frustrated, depressed–sometimes those words fly out. It’s just me and Jesus here, so that’s not so bad–He’s heard everything, never shocked or disappointed in us, so don’t park in the Condemnation Lot!

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 18, 2014 at 12:28 am

      Yes ma’am! You are so good at making my insecurities go away! Thank you my friend! God bless!

       
      • Starralee

        April 18, 2014 at 12:30 am

        It gives me much joy to feel “useful”–so if anything I say helps, that too is a gift from God; He just uses my fingers to do the typing!

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

        Well I am greatful for both of you!

         
      • Starralee

        April 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm

        Oh, bless your dear heart.

         
  3. Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

    April 18, 2014 at 4:51 am

    I think God is very understanding about PTSD and of a few obscenities. I swear sometimes, and whilst I don’t like it, when in highly stressed situations with PTSD, seriously swearing is not a big deal.
    Christians often make a big issue out of swearing, yet find judgment so easy and seem to be able to justify that?
    Keep talking to Jesus my friend and know He loves you, understands the challenges of PTSD. We can only be doing our best, and that ‘is’ good enough for Jesus.
    And I agree with the ‘don’t park in the condemnation lot’ too.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 18, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      Thank you very much! You are very right!! I’m in reverse as we speak! 🙂 God bless you on this Good Friday!

       
  4. Chrys Fey

    April 18, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    I also suffer from anxiety when I’m in a car, especially if I’m in the drivers seat, which is why I actually don’t drive.
    Obscenities come out of my mouth when I feel a combination of pressure, anger, and fear. I’m going through a hard time right now, so I’ve been saying obscenities several times a day. I’m not proud of it, but it does help me to cope and does relieve some of my stress. Momentarily.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 18, 2014 at 5:39 pm

      Same here. I am sorry to hear you are going through a hard time. It will get better. It’s really comforting to know I am not alone in having these feelings. Like so many people have already said, ‘don’t park in the condemnation lot’ it not worth it for us to be bothered with ill feelings about our actions. We are who we are and who we are! God bless you this Easter weekend. You are in my prayers!

       

Tell me what you think!

 
