RSS

Why would you put makeup on God’s words?

20 Apr

“Now why would you put makeup on God’s words?”

My beautiful and wonderful mama said this to me one time and it makes me smile every time I re-write something, tweak it or edit it. Here are the steps it takes for me to get a piece of writing published………(that is when I am not in a challenge! In a challenge they are probably cut in half)

1) God whispers His words into my ear…

2) Quick get a pen and paper, I have to write it out manually first it doesn’t feel right otherwise!

3) Say yup I just need five minutes and I’ll (insert action here)

4) Hour or more later……………….. hey we can’t rush a masterpiece! lol

5) Read what I wrote

6) I don’t like……………

7) Re-write……..

8) Read it again…….

9) Hmmmmmm nope still don’t like it!

10) Get out the ominous red pen!

11) Great now I have more red ink than blue

12) Re-write again……………

13) Read again…

14) Okay we’re close now just a few more changes…..

15) Huh……… maybe I’ll just keep this one to myself…… add it to the rest…….. I don’t know why I bother….

16) Can I run this by you?

17) Well, may as well put it in final print before I type it up…( I have a paper copy of all my pieces written with my favorite felt tipped pen)

18) Let’s type it up!

19) Maybe I’ll just change this a little…….

20) Okay well I guess that’s good enough…..

21) Ta Da!

I go through this mind numbing process every time. My mom, being as sweet as she is, tells me that when God puts the words into my mind that it’s those words that count the rest are just filler. She told me that when I finally publish my first book she wants all my original unedited copies first lol She is such an amazing woman and I am so unbelievably blessed to call her my mama!! I love you mama! I am trying to listen to her words when I approach my writing but I may be a little persnickety. Just a little. Her words are very true though it truly is God’s words that count not mine, mine are nothing but filler. I don’t know if there will come a day that I go right to the computer and type it up and post it right away, but we shall see stranger things have happened. There is kind of a romance about it for me. The way a pen feels in your hand and the way it just glides on the paper, hmmm just wonderful! It’s probably one of those e-reader vs paperback things. Or I am old, to which my sister in-law would say yes that’s exactly what it is, and refuse to change lol Who even knows! Blessings of love and fellowship to you, your family and friends on this glorious Easter morning! He has risen!! All glory be to God!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2014 in Blog's

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Why would you put makeup on God’s words?

  1. rarasaur

    April 20, 2014 at 3:55 am

    Sounds like you have a wise and loving mama! 🙂

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 20, 2014 at 3:56 am

      Thank you I certainly do! God bless you happy Easter!

       
  2. jasonedwin23

    April 20, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    That’s awesome and the title speaks for itself.
    mama is absolutely right about the words from God that gets spoken to you.
    When we speak to others on Christ we speak for what our hearts say but when we shoot a movie or a film we have to script it so it’s as perfect as can be.
    I want to Quote something John said in the Bible.

    18 I, John, solemnly warn everyone who hears the prophetic words of this book: if anyone adds anything to them, God will add to his punishment the plagues described in this book. 19 And if anyone takes anything away from the prophetic words of this book, God will take away from him his share of the fruit of the tree of life and of the Holy City, which are described in this book.

    His words were spoken and written as is and your posts should be written as is as they come to you.
    I like the fact that you write it down on paper or whatever you can when God sends a message to you.

    God bless you and everyone and Happy Easter.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 21, 2014 at 12:37 am

      That is your uncles favourite quote from Revelations I think…. I think that was her point sometimes it’s not pretty it just is God word. Period. No seers or mediums! That includes prophesying!

       
  3. moondustwriter

    April 21, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Don’t know how it is for others, but God fills me up and I empty and fill up again. Don’t get me wrong not everything I write is God inspired but much of what I write is His.
    Hope you had a blessed Easter.

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 22, 2014 at 1:27 am

      That goes for me too! It was perfect thank you! I pray yours was wonderful as well! God bless you and thank you for taking the time to read my post!

       

Tell me what you think!

 
