RSS

Sound of a voice

21 Apr

S

Every time you answer the phone, hear your name, you recognize the voice on the other end. You don’t have to see the persons face to know who it is. A voice can be an amazing thing. When I get sick the first thing that is effected is my voice, it sucks! On a normal day I am a little nasally and kind of squeaky I guess, you can’t really asses your own voice I guess. Any ways…. regardless if it is nasally, raspy or squeaky someone who knows me will recognize it. The very sound of it will make them smile or frown, either way they will know it is me. The same goes for God’s voice, all through the bible God spoke to people and they just knew it was Him. There was no formal introduction or anything they just knew. I think the only person who in a way didn’t know for sure that it was God was Moses, but what he asked was “who shall I say sent me?” we all know the answer. I think it was more a question of how he was going to approach the Jews enslaved in Egypt. I can just picture it now, ‘hey guys so God sent me to save you, yeah I was a prince but it’s totally fine God talked to me, oh by the way Aaron and Miriam I am your brother. So is everyone ready or?’ He had to know what to say to them so that they knew it truly was the God of Israel that sent him to them. The first time I heard God’s voice it was beyond words! Really it was probably the most beautiful day of my life!! Though I hesitated telling anyone. Why you ask? Well, I didn’t want people to think I was crazy or lying or to dismiss me saying it was just a dream. I knew to the very depths of my soul that it was God who had spoken to me. Finally I decided that I didn’t care what people thought and I shared it, some people seemed skeptical and others got really excited for me and wanted to know what He sounded like and what He had said. I still share with everyone I can when He speaks to me. I have these things I get in my sleep that my doctors have called night terrors or sleep paralysis, they are not though, you don’t wake from a night terror or sleep paralysis and have a joyful heart and have an endless smile on your face! They use science, I use God! Basically my entire body freezes and I get a noise in my ears, I can’t move or speak, I can look around and am totally aware. During this time if my heart is willing God will speak to me. Sometimes I remember what He says and other times I can’t. But I always know that He did speak to me! If He has words He wants me to write He simply whispers them in my ear. I don’t know the means He uses to speak to anyone else but I don’t doubt in any way that it is Him for me. Does God speak to you? What means does He use? I encourage you to share your experiences! I would absolutely love to hear them! God bless you!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2014 in April A to Z Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Sound of a voice

  1. Starralee

    April 22, 2014 at 12:37 am

    I love this, and I know what you mean about telling people–particularly nonbelievers–that God speaks to you. I already had a history of mental issues, so I didn’t have much credibility–but that was then, this is now–I don’t hesitate to talk about God, it’s like I completely forget myself! I tell them what He’s said to me, how he helped me, and I tell them what I’m praying for them, believing God will lead them in the most beneficial way for whatever their need is. It’s just impossible to NOT talk about Him–and sometimes it gets me into trouble on the blogs….this past weekend someone told me , “This is not a religious blog”. Oops, okay. But then other times, someone is truly blessed so…..So, God does speak pretty clearly to me, more so than before. “His sheep know His voice”–and He definitely knows our names! God bless you BIG!

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 22, 2014 at 1:31 am

      Amen!! You should have written this blog! You said it much better than I did! lol I completely agree with everything you said including the mental illness. Your quote put tears in my eyes! Thank you so much! God bless you in every aspect of your life! He sure has blessed you as far as your writing goes! Lots of love!

       
      • Starralee

        April 22, 2014 at 2:18 am

        Oh, you’re just the sweetest thing!! I really enjoy your posts–you write very naturally, and from the heart, which is why I pick up on things that I have experienced too. Sometimes when He tells me something I don’t really want to hear, it’s so tempting to just pretend it wasn’t Him–but it’s one of those things where you can’t “unknow” something! So I find it’s best to just agree with Him quick, and get it over with!! Like when He asks me to do something for my unlovely neighbors…. God bless you, and so much love to you from me! Always remember that He sees you as the BEST, nothin’ less!

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 22, 2014 at 2:32 am

        Oh my goodness thank you so very much! That is exactly what I try to do in my writing! I know what you mean, sometimes I feel like Jonah, looking over my shoulder for the whale! lol Thank you again endless love right back at ya sister! God bless! 😉

         
      • Starralee

        April 22, 2014 at 2:41 am

        Night-y Night!!

         
      • Pen of the Sheep

        April 22, 2014 at 2:50 am

        Night God bless you!

         
  2. Lala Rukh

    April 22, 2014 at 1:33 am

    Lovely thoughts ! I talk to Allah all the time…while eating food while watching tv while doing chores…. He don’t talk with voice but with a silence in heart and I hear that peaceful silence and through it, I find words.
    Hope you are doing fine friend !

     
    • Pen of the Sheep

      April 22, 2014 at 1:39 am

      That is great! He just speaks to us the way we need him! I am better now that you are back! 🙂

       
      • Lala Rukh

        April 22, 2014 at 1:41 am

        Good to know ! 🙂

         

Tell me what you think!

 
