RSS

Alternate ending?

15 Apr

A few years ago I met a young man at the job I was working at the time. Just a little history of this young man. He was raised in a very pushy in your face Christian home. The type where if he didn’t meet it exactly he was put on the outside in a way. He dare not ask any questions. When he was 15 he got jumped by some other teens his age. He couldn’t go to his family because as I said he was on the outside. At his most vulnerable needful time a certain gang approached and befriended him. He seen the unity and “family” he was missing. When I met him he was 17 and I was probably 25ish. He wasn’t deep in the gang, more of an associate, but they definitely had their grips in him. At that time I was very involved in my church and attending Bible college. I try to live in a way that when I tell people I am a Christian they are surprised in a way. I try to show people that they don’t have to be perfect to have the love of Christ. Christ came for the sick not the well! Him and I really connected. I knew him better than anyone. When he had questions I was open and honest with my answers. Not condemning him. We did talk about the gang on many occasions. I understood why he wanted to be a part of it, but expressed that with Christ he could have the same feeling. Only the “family” aspect would be true and without alterior motives. After a year of really building a special relationship he started coming around more and more. He was asking more questions. I could see the seed being planted. I felt as though I was bringing him away from the grips of satan and the gang. One day during one of our deep conversations he asked “if I came to church with you would you be ashamed of me? Would you still talk to me while we were there?” YES!!!! The light was starting to shine! He must have spoken to them (the gang) about not associating with them or something and that it was because of our friendship. Certain members started showing up at our workplace. They weren’t buying anything. They would just glare at me. I spoke with Jeffery about what was going on. He forbid me to speak to him again (that is not to be taken lightly). He said that it was for my safety and the safety of my family (he had a very good reason for this warning, based on personal knowledge of dealing with this specific group) As many of you may know Jeffery was a protector of all, and that is where his personal insight came from. I was so angry with Jeffery. So I ignored his instructions for a bit. That was until the VERY scary president of the gang showed up one afternoon. Again didn’t buy anything, just glared at me. My heart was torn between mine and my families well being and the newborn bright seed! Soon after that I quit and cut ties with this bright young soul. I had to, though it broke my heart I had to think about my family. I had to trust that God would take care of him. While I kept this young man in my prayer and constant thoughts over the years, time went on as it always does. Very recently there was a story in the news about a young man from this gang that was shot by police. Fear set in my heart. I looked further into the incident via google and they had an image of the young man involved. It was him! This young beautiful soul! I am sad and torn with regret. I try not to live with regret, because everything in life is a part of Gods plan, but what if I stayed in contact? Would it have actually changed his fate? Would my family have come to harm because of me? I truly don’t know. I have faith that God has put me everywhere He has wanted me. I ask that you pray for this young mans soul. That he did receive the Lord but made some bad choices. We are all sinners after all. As if I needed anymore weight on my heart right now, but here it is. What do you think? Could I have done more? Thanks for stopping by! God bless!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Alternate ending?

  1. david andre davison

    April 15, 2015 at 6:22 pm

    Do not second guess yourself, you did what you felt was best for that situation. Jesus doesn’t condemn us, so why should you condemn yourself. If you believe you acted wrong then pray to the LORD for forgiveness and direction. Keep in mind that the young man told you to not get involved. Likewise Jesus knocks at the door, and we must answer. No one can answer His calling for us.

    We must pray to God for His will to be done and abide by what He tells us. Sometimes it is difficult to know His will. However, I believe that He will reveal it to us through others, through a feeling deep inside us, through the Bible, or through a feeling He gives us.

    If we truly trust in the LORD, He will guide us in all things, through The Holy Spirit.

    May God Bless your ministry!

     
  2. secretangel

    April 20, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    There is nothing more that you could have done for him. We all have a choice…everyday! He chose the wrong path. Also, if you felt the danger from this gang, just imagine the danger that he was feeling if he tried to get away. I feel that he wanted out but fear kept him in. These gangs use fear to control and manipulate others. Only God knows what was in his heart. You did the best thing that you could do… pray for him. God bless you, my sister.

     

Tell me what you think!

 
